San Juan Chief Mill

This scenic ruined mill site was built in the late 1890s and never saw ore from its namesake, the San Juan Chief mine. It is the second mill to be built on this site. In 1900, it had 2 roasting furnaces and 15 stamps.

Photos are from a trip in 2005.

San Juan Chief mill from above. San Juan Chief mill ...
All that is left of the San Juan Chief mill. All that is left of ...
Fallen stamps Fallen stamps
Bull wheel Bull wheel
View of the cam shaft. View of the cam shaft.
Micah and Dan explore the mill ruins. Micah and Dan explor...
Dan checks out the furnace. Dan checks out the f...
Furnace opening Furnace opening
Another view of the furnace. Another view of the ...
Mill ruins. Mill ruins.
Settling tanks. Settling tanks.
Mill boilers and flowers. Mill boilers and flo...
View of the area.  There are a few cabins around. View of the area. T...
Looking down the canyon. Looking down the can...
Parked at the site. Parked at the site.
Nearby structure.  Boarding house for the miners? Nearby structure. B...
Bunkhouse window towards the mill. Bunkhouse window tow...
View of the mill from across the canyon. View of the mill fro...

 


Some Random Posts

Loading…